Resarch Databases by Subject / Topic

Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library, most titles on this list will require your Farmington Community Library Card bar code number and the last 4 digits of your home phone number for access. A few resources are available only from within the library, and these titles are so noted. Some of these resources are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL),and are so marked with a   Michigan eLibrary Logo: MeL Logo Image.

For Apple Device Users

At present, free apps are only available for the Droid phones and Apple mobile devices (ipad, iphone, itouch). Gale is currently working on other iterations for things like the Blackberry or Windows mobile but have not developed them yet.

For Apple products simply go to the App Store and type in (access my library) then choose the "Library edition", or use the QR code below.

Apple QR Code

For Android Device Users

At present, free apps are only available for the Droid phones and Apple mobile devices (ipad, iphone, itouch). Gale is currently working on other iterations for things like the Blackberry or Windows mobile but have not developed them yet.

For Android-powered phones, go to the Market and type in (access my library) then chose the "Library edition", or us the QR code below

Android Qr Code

For Students

See also our Kids' Web Site and our Teens' Web Site

CollegeSource® Online is a digital collection of 58,635 digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources. The college catalogs are in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. comprehensive collection of college catalog and course data in existence. With over 42 million course descriptions and more than 58,000 cover-to-cover college catalogs available in PDF format, you can get the information you need in seconds



This resource provides a profile of the cultures of 200 countries around the world, with in-depth information on 25 categories. The database also includes StateGrams for all the fifty state, A Provinces Edition covering Canada's Provinces, and a Kids' Edition providing a kids'-eye view of 66 countries featuring cultural and geographical information, history, flags, maps and colorful images.



A multimedia reference source with information on six core curriculum areas, specifically: geography & cultures, literature, history, personal biography, science & health, plus an extensive searchable multimedia gallery.



 ( All full text. Video, audio, books, pictures, magazines, maps, newspapers, & transcripts of TV and radio shows. )



Mostly full text. Magazine, newspaper and journal articles appropriate to college and university-level research.

The main menu at Grolier.com offers direct access to six important online encyclopedic resources:



  1. America The Beautiful
  2. Encyclopedia Americana
  3. Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
  4. Lands And Peoples
  5. New Book of Knowledge
  6. New Book of Popular Science

Grzimek's Animal Life is an image-rich, dynamic online resource that creates a true educational experience where a quick trip to find specific information can lead to the desire to explore and learn more.



( For Middle and Junior High School. Full text. Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )



( For High School. Mostly full text. Over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )



( For K-6. All full text. Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )



PebbleGo is an award-winning pre-K to grade 3 database for reading and research. PebbleGo includes built-in reading and research tools for emerging readers. Leveled text, educational games, and multimedia help teach concepts to your youngest researchers. The PebbleGo databases make learning and improving reading and research skills fun, building on children's interest. PebbleGo offers two separate collections: PebbleGo Animals and PebbleGo Earth & Space. Both are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports of read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting.



(Recommended for K=9)

(For High school, College and University.)

All full text. A children's database of articles, books, video, audio on all topics. The interface is appropriate to children and includes reading levels, teacher's help pages, over 3,000 maps, and more.

SIRS Renaissance provides dynamic information on architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs, and illustrations.

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

World History in Context is a comprehensive online collection that uses an intuitive, Web-like interface to provide multicultural, global and research-based dynamic content that supports today’s history research requirements.

Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, World History in Context offers students and researchers unparalleled access to a broad collection of scholarly scholarly analysis and award-winning full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents.

Literary Research



Books and Authors Books and Authors

 Books and Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun!  


Literature Criticism OnlineLiterature Criticism Online

Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.



Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is your most current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. View search tips. Here's what you'll find in Literature Resource Center:
  • Full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines—the majority peer-reviewed—as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. (After your search, select the Literature Criticism tab.)
  • Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. (After your search, select the Reviews and News tab.)
  • Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception. (After your search, select the Biographies tab.)
  • Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines. (After your search, select the Primary Sources/Literary Works tab.)
  • Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics. (After your search, select the Topic and Work Overviews tab.)
  • Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors and audio interviews and reviews. (After your search, select the Multimedia tab.)


LitFinderLitfinder

Lit Finder is a unique database of full-text poems, stories, essays, speeches, and plays focusing on the humanities and social sciences, and includes biographies and literary criticism. You can search by title or author, or use the subject navigator organized into a hierarchy of groupings, leading from the most general to the most specific.



Michigan Authors & Illustrators

A searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations. No log-in required.




NoveListNoveList

Recommended for: Readers of fiction (all ages), librarians, and teachers. Helps to find the next best fiction book to read. Search by author, title, series, plots or even books like the one you just finished. Browse lists of award winners, lists of genres, and lists based on age. Create and save lists of your own favorites. Find book discussion guides and more. This has something for children, young adults, and adults, plus specific information for teachers, and librarians. Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.
  • First
  • Previous
  • Pause or Play
  • Next
  • Last