Health & Science
Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library and its subscription modem pool, most titles on this list will require either your Farmington Community Library Card bar code number and the last 4 digits of your home phone number or your Metro Net subscription username and password for access . Titles marked with a Michigan eLibrary Logo (
) are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL), and may require your Michigan Driver's License number to login from outside the Library. Follow the link to the Database page of the MeL, and scroll down to the database you want to use.
A few databases are available only from within the library, and these are marked with a red arrow (
).
CINAHL Basic ( Provides indexing for 2,931 journals with 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers indexing to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 70 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Contains only limited full text (70 journals). )
From the Gale Virtual Reference Library:
Biology
(4v.)
A comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of biological science, including its history and issues. Includes articles on biology-related careers and important individuals, as well as topics from active transport to zoology research. Amply illustrated with full-color photos and line drawings. Glossary illuminates scientific terms.
- Lagowski, J. J., Ed. Chemistry: Foundations and Applications. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 1154 pp. 4 vols.
Covers chemistry, its laws, processes, applications and subdisciplines. Reviews the history of the field, from the Bronze Age and alchemy up to modern research and practical applications. Includes biographies of scientists past and present and examines the role chemistry plays in various aspects of everyday life. Provides information about chemistry's many branches such as inorganic, industrial, atmospheric, and computational chemistry, and biotechnology.
- Data Warehouses and OLAP Concepts, Architectures & Solutions Robert Wrembel and Christian Koncilia, Eds. Hershey, PA: IRM Press, 2007. 332 pp.
Data warehouses and online analytical processing (OLAP) are emerging key technologies for enterprise decision support systems. They provide sophisticated technologies from data integration, data collection and retrieval, query optimization, and data analysis to advanced user interfaces. New research and technological achievements in the area of data warehousing are implemented in commercial database management systems, and organizations are developing data warehouse systems into their information system infrastructures. Data Warehouses and OLAP: Concepts, Architectures, and Solutions covers a wide range of technical, technological, and research issues. It provides theoretical frameworks, presents challenges and their possible solutions, and examines the latest empirical research findings in the area. It is a resource of possible solutions and technologies that can be applied when designing, implementing, and deploying a data warehouse, and assists in the dissemination of knowledge in this field.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine 2nd ed., 4v, 2005
Presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda, and osteopathy. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, are balanced by conclusions of studies on efficacy and analysis of current levels of acceptance by traditional scientists and doctors.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer 2v, 2002
Tncludes entries covering cancers, cancer drugs, treatments, side effects, and diagnostic procedures.
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine 2nd ed., 5v, 2002
- Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Ed. Michael Hutchins, Dennis A. Thoney, and Melissa C. McDade. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2004. 9609 pp. 17 vols.
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
- Web Services Security and E-Busines G. Radhamani and G.S.V. Radha Krishna Rao, Eds. Hershey, PA: Idea Group Publishing, 2007. 393 pp.
Many techniques, algorithms, protocols, and tools have been developed in the different aspects of cyber-security, namely, authentication, access control, availability, integrity, privacy, confidentiality, and non-repudiation as they apply to both networks and systems. Web Services Security and E-Business focuses on architectures and protocols, while bringing together the understanding of security problems related to the protocols and applications of the Internet, and the contemporary solutions to these problems. Web Services Security and E-Business provides insight into uncovering the security risks of dynamically created content, and how proper content management can greatly improve overall security. This book also researches the security lifecycle and how to respond to an attack, as well as the problems of site hijacking and phishing.
- World of Earth Science 2v, 2003
This title in Thomson Gale's "World of" Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers, and issues relating to topics in earth science. Its encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings, and is written in easy to understand language.
Note: The individual component titles may be searched separately and by such using the Advanced Search tab.

Health & Wellness Resource Ctr ( with Alternative Health Module) ( Mostly full text. Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., articles from 2,200 general interest publications and links to reputable health Web sites in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles. Includes video. )
Health Reference Ctr Academic( For Students, Patients, Health Professionals. Mostly full text. Provides access to professional and personal health magazines, journals and reference sources. )
History of Science, Technology & Medicine ( Integrates four premier tools (Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and citations from the Wellcome Library) to create an international bibliography for the history of science, technology and medicine. It reflects the influence of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. Database records describe journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Citations reflect the contents of nearly 9,500 journals. )
MEDLINE ( Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine. )

![]()
|

