Subscription Databases: Magazines & Newspapers

These resources are available only to Library patrons, in one of the following ways: From any computer in either Branch of the Library, or by dialing in to our modem pool using your subscription Metro Net Account, or from any web browser / internet service provider, by entering either your FCL Library Card barcode number and the last 4 digits of your phone number, or your Metro Net user name and password when prompted.

Page Contents


Magazines & Newspapers—Detailed Descriptions

FirstSearch—This academic source offers databases in the following areas:

  • Arts & Humanities
  • Business & Economics
  • Conferences & Proceedings
  • Education
  • Engineers & Technology
  • General & Life Sciences
  • Medicine & Health Sciences
  • News & Current Events
  • Public Affairs & Law
  • Social Sciences
While FirstSearch is a good place to look for hard-to-find information, be aware that full text is not available for all citations.

Click Here to Return to the Top

General OneFile

Gale's General OneFile is a comprehensive periodical resource that puts more than 60 million articles at your fingertips with a single search query. More than 11,000 titles and backfile coverage from 1980—from mainstream to specialized sources—and an intuitive search interface make this an unequaled source for virtually every popular, business and professional topic.

InfoTrac Custom Full Text Newspapers

An innovative Web-based full-text ASCII-formatted newspaper database that lets you electronically search articles by title, headline, date, author, section, or other assigned fields from 120 papers. Newspapers Indexed

Click Here to Return to the Top

InfoTrac General Reference Center Gold (1980–   )

General Reference Center Gold is one of the Library's most popular databases, providing access to general interest magazines, business and industry journals, reference books, and newspapers. Many of the ten million articles here are full-text.

Click Here to Return to the Top

InfoTrac Junior Edition

Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Click Here to Return to the Top

InfoTrac Student Edition

Formerly SuperTOM, this database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Click Here to Return to the Top

Kids' Edition (CultureGrams K–11)

Use this database designed for schools, to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc.

Click Here to Return to the Top

Kids' InfoBits

Kids' InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Click Here to Return to the Top

Michigan Newspapers

This instance of Thomson-Gale's Custom Newspapers allows searching of the Grand Rapids Press.

Click Here to Return to the Top

New York Times (1995—  )

Full text searching 1995—Present.
Click Here to Return to the Top

NewsBank

Chicago Tribune (1985–Current), Detroit Free Press (1982–Current), Detroit News (2002–Current) and Washington Post (1977–Current): Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

In addition, Newsbank now offers America's GenealogyBank, featuring:
  • Follow Your Family Through America's History: Climb beyond the names and dates on your family tree to the recorded details of their daily lives. Find the facts in four centuries of fragile, rare newspapers, books and documents.

  • Historical Newspapers 1690–1977: Quickly find names and keywords in over 92 million articles, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements and other items published in more than 500,000 issues of over 1,300 historical U.S. newspapers. New content added monthly.

  • Historical Books 1801–1900: A unique source that provides you with complete text of more than 11,700 books, pamphlets and printed items including: genealogies, biographies, funeral sermons, local histories, cards, charts and more - all published in the U.S. prior to 1900. New content added monthly.

  • Historical Documents 1789–1980: Find military records, casualty lists, Revolutionary and Civil War pension requests, widow's claims, orphan petitions, land grants and much more including all of the American State Papers (1789-1838) and all genealogical content carefully selected from the U.S. Serial Set (1817-1980). More than 119,000 reports, lists and documents. Now digitizing March 1919 with plans to complete content through 1930 by December 2007 and through 1980 by 2009. New content added monthly.

  • America's Obituaries 1977 to current: Obituaries contain helpful information such as names, dates, places of birth, death, marriage and family information. Over 27 million obituaries make this the most complete collection from the 20th and 21st centuries - includes more than 900 U.S. newspapers. New content added daily.

  • Social Security Death Index 1937 to current: Search 80 million death records and get genealogical information crucial to your family research. New content added weekly.


Click Here to Return to the Top

SIRS Discoverer Deluxe

An informative database of full-text articles organized into 15 categories. Useful for student research of social issues.
Click Here to Return to the Top

Last modified on Thursday, 13-Mar-2008 12:49:45 EDT