Subscription Databases: Literary Research

These resources are available only to Library patrons, in one of the following ways: From any computer in either Branch of the Library, or by dialing in to our modem pool using your subscription Metro Net Account, or from any web browser / internet service provider, by entering either your FCL Library Card barcode number and the last 4 digits of your phone number, or your Metro Net user name and password when prompted.




BookNook (BookLetters)

BookNook is a unique Internet tool that integrates Faarmington Community Library's offerings with patron interests by using technology to strengthen patron communication channels. It provides an e-newsletter and set of web pages that lets library users receive book and library news on their computers and immediately connect into the Library's web site, e-resources and catalog.


Books and Authors

Books and Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.


Literature Resource Center

An extremely useful source for book club participants as well as students. Allows you to search for author biographies, bibliographies, and full-text criticism of an author's works and literary career. You can search Title to find related critical essays and Authors by Type (which includes options such as Author Ethnicity, Author Nationality, Genre, Theme, and Literary Movement or Time Period.)  Journals Indexed

Click Here to Return to the Top

Litfinder

Lit Finder is a unique database of full-text poems, stories, essays, speeches, and plays focusing on the humanities and social sciences, and includes biographies and literary criticism. You can search by title or author, or use the subject navigator organized into a hierarchy of groupings, leading from the most general to the most specific.

Michigan Authors & Illustrators

Michigan Authors and Illustrators (MIAI) is a database of information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan. Each entry includes biographical information, lists of works by the person and lists of works about the person. More complete information is available for those authors and illustrators who provide information to us. The database is a collaboration of the Michigan Association of Media in Education (MAME), the Library of Michigan (LM) and the Michigan Center for the Book (MCFB).

Click Here to Return to the Top

NoveList

NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
Click Here to Return to the Top