For Kids

See also our Kids’ Web Site and our Teens’ Web Site

Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library and its subscription modem pool, most titles on this list will require either your Farmington Community Library Card bar code number and the last 4 digits of your home phone number or your Metro Net subscription username and password for access . Titles marked with a Michigan eLibrary Logo (  ) are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL), and may require your Michigan Driver's License number to login from outside the Library. Follow the link to the Database page of the MeL, and scroll down to the database you want to use.

A few databases are available only from within the library, and these are marked with a red arrow (left red arrow image).

  •   eLibrary Elementary  ( All full text. Video, audio, books, pictures, magazines, maps, newspapers, & transcripts of TV and radio shows. )

  • Facts on File Portal  ( This Reference Portal consists of five searchable databases: the Science Online database, World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Issues & Controversies in American History, and Today’s Science.  )

  • Greenwood Daily Life Online: A Suite of Social History Products  ( Daily Life Online focuses on the men and woman history often forgets, but whose everyday lives created the world we know. Perfect for general readers, students of art, history, literature, drama, social studies, anthropology, religion, organized by time period, region, and topic for easy navigation. )

  • Greenwood Pop Culture Universe Online ( Greenwood has taken one of the most-loved research assignments in high schools (the "Decades Research" assignment) to an entirely new level with Pop Culture Universe. No longer will students have to fight over single copies of print reference titles to research a specific decade or the everyday events surrounding historical events....Greenwood's Pop Culture Universe database is not only a fun way to learn about the history of some of our favorite people, places, and things, it's also a great way to learn about America's past and the influence that popular culture has had on our world today. While many librarians try to provide a wide variety of resources dealing with the history and culture of America throughout much of the 20th century, few can provide the wealth of resources that this database provides. )

  • Grolier Online  The main menu at Grolier.com offers direct access to six important online encyclopedic resources:
  1. America The Beautiful
  2. Encyclopedia Americana
  3. Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
  4. Lands And Peoples
  5. New Book of Knowledge
  6. New Book of Popular Science

  •   InfoTrac Junior Edition ( For Middle and Junior High School. Full text. Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )

  •   InfoTrac Student Edition ( For High School. Mostly full text. Over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this database gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )

  •   Kids InfoBits ( For K-6. All full text. Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. )

  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center ( Designed to aid students in researching both sides of a social issue, while making it simple, fast and rewarding, the Center includes over 60 topics from key reference sources, including full-text articles from over 30 major newspapers and newsmagazines, making researching both sides of an issue simple, fast and rewarding. )

  • Science Online ( Newly redesigned, the award-winning Science Online (for Grades 6–12) offers a comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, diagrams, illustrations, images, biographies, experiments and activities, and definitions. Invaluable new features include approximately 300 videos, regularly updated science news articles, a feature on the cell as shown through flash animations, hundreds of newly colored diagrams, and much more. )

  •  SIRS Discoverer Deluxe ( For K through 9th grade. All full text. A children's database of articles, books, video, audio on all topics. The interface is appropriate to children and includes reading levels, teacher's help pages, over 3,000 maps, and more. )

  • TumbleBooks


 World Book Encyclopedia



Highlights of the World Book Online include:

  • Accurate, authoritative, easy to read articles from The World Book Encyclopedia.
  • Related articles from major newspapers and magazines.
  • Extensive graphic and multimedia enhancements, including photographs, maps, illustrations, tables, animations, and audio/video clips.
  • Special Reports that broaden and deepen coverage for selected topics.
  • Back in Time, a captivating, you-are-there chronicle of events from the World Book Year Book that begins in 1922 and unfolds in the distinctive voice and perspective of each successive year.
  • Links to external Web sites specially selected by World Book editors.
Click Here to Return to the Top





Bookmark and Share



Home | About Our Library | Contact Us
32737 W. 12 Mile Road | Farmington Hills, MI 48334
(248) 553•0300 (V) | (248) 553•3228 (F)