Subscription Databases: General Information & Reference
These resources are available only to Library patrons, in
one of the following ways: From any computer in either Branch of the Library, or by dialing in to our modem pool using your subscription Metro Net Account, or from any web browser / internet service provider, by entering either
your FCL Library Card barcode number and the last 4 digits of your phone number, or your Metro Net user name and password when prompted. The red arrow symbol ( Page Contents |
|
Provides access to comprehensive diagnostic, repair and maintenance information for all domestic and foreign models back to 1982. The database also contains Factory Recall and Technical Service Bulletins (TSB); information on car safety, reliability, performance and comfort; special warranty provisions and extensions; fixes for common problems; illustrated diagnosis and repair procedures; OEM part numbers; diagnostic charts and trouble codes, and component locations and diagrams. Updated quarterly.
Ancestry Library Edition has a new, simplified search screen and contains the following enhancements not previously available in MeL:
Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, from around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Journals Indexed
A virutal library representing 34,692 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
For researchers who need to keep pace with the fast changing world of high technology, Computer Database is their Internet- accessible reference solution. With Computer Database, library users can access today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries—all in one seamless search. Sources Indexed
This database provides a profile of the cultures of 182 countries around the world, with in-depth information on 25 categories. The database also includes StateGrams for all the fifty state, and a Kids' Edition providing a kids'-eye view of 66 countries featuring cultural and geographical information, history, flags, maps and colorful images.
A multimedia reference source with information on six core curriculum areas, specifically: geography & cultures, literature, history, personal biography, science & health, plus an extensive searchable multimedia gallery.
Educators Reference Complete (1980– )
K-12 teachers, administrators and undergraduate or graduate students in education will appreciate the focused and timely resources available within Educator's Reference Complete. This powerful database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. Also included are resources on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education. With more than 1,100 periodicals that cover a wide variety of subjects and 200 reports from the United States Department of Education, the Educator's Reference Complete is an important tool for today's educator. In addition, Educators Reference Complete is the perfect complement for any library that utilizes the ERIC database, because it provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC. Journals Indexed
This Reference Suite consists of seven searchable databases: the World News Digest (divided into three sections: 1940–1979, 1980–present, and World News Special Features ) which links articles directly to related information in this and six other databases, by means of more than half a million internal editorial hyperlinks.
The six other core reference databases are: Issues & Controversies , Issues & Controversies in American History, Reuters, Today's Science, World Almanac Encyclopedia and the World Almanac Reference Database.
FirstSearch—This academic source offers databases in the following areas:
While FirstSearch is a good place to look for hard-to-find information, be aware that full text is not available for all citations.
The Foundation Center's most comprehensive database of nearly 80,000 grantmakers and over half a million grants awarded by the nation's top funders. Updated Weekly. Available at the Main Library only.
Foundation Grants to Individuals![]()
The Foundation Grants to Indivduals provides detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is updated quarterly. Available at the Main Library only.
General OneFile (1980– )
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles. Updated daily. Journals Indexed Newspapers and News Wires Indexed
InfoTrac General Reference Center Gold (1980– )
General Reference Center Gold is one of the Library's most popular databases, providing access to general interest magazines, business and industry journals, reference books, and newspapers. Many of the ten million articles here are full-text. Sources Indexed
Greenwood Daily Life through History Online
Daily Life Online focuses on the men and woman history often forgets, but whose everyday lives created the world we know. Perfect for general readers, students of art, history, literature, drama, social studies, anthropology, religion, organized by time period, region, and topic for easy navigation.
HeritageQuest Online is a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States.
InfoTrac Junior Edition (2003– )
This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Sources Indexed
InfoTrac Student Edition (1980– )
This periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Journals Indexed
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law. Sources Indexed
Live Homework Help (Tutor.com)
Available from 4pm to 10pm daily. Requires Windows 2000 or XP. Free Interactive Online Tutoring in Math, Science, Social Studies and English for Grades 4–12 and College Intro.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Designed to aid students in researching both sides of a social issue, while making it simple, fast and rewarding, the Center includes over 60 topics from key reference sources, including full-text articles from over 30 major newspapers and newsmagazines, making researching both sides of an issue simple, fast and rewarding. Sources Indexed
WestLaw with ResultsPlus ![]()
Includes cases and statutes from Michigan, Federal 6th Circuit and US Supreme Court. Allows for retrieval of Michigan Administrative materials, Michigan law reviews and journals. Westlaw ResultsPlus adds links to on-point analytical aricles from treatises and law reviews. This powerful legal research resource is available only from a dedicated workstations within the Main Library and Farmington Branch. Please see the staff at the Information Desk to arrange for use. Representatives from West Publishing offer free quarterly training sessions.
Last modified on Wednesday, 09-Jul-2008 10:41:34 EDT