Genealogy

See also our Heritage Collection

Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library and its subscription modem pool, most titles on this list will require either your Farmington Community Library Card bar code number and the last 4 digits of your home phone number or your Metro Net subscription username and password for access . Titles marked with a Michigan eLibrary Logo (  ) are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL), and may require your Michigan Driver's License number to login from outside the Library. Follow the link to the Database page of the MeL, and scroll down to the database you want to use.

A few databases are available only from within the library, and these are marked with a red arrow (left red arrow image).

  • Ancestry Library Editionleft red arrow image Ancestry Library Edition has a new, simplified search screen and contains the following enhancements not previously available in MeL: Passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans; Naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900; Immigration records for more than 100 countriesIncrease of more than 10 million names; an improved viewer for documents. )

  •    ArchiveGrid ( ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection. )

  •   Biography and Genealogy Master Index ( Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Bibliographic citations only. )

  •   HeritageQuest Online ( Some full text. Includes all of the images and extensive indexing from the 1790–1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions. )


Click Here to Return to the Top





Bookmark and Share



Home | About Our Library | Contact Us
32737 W. 12 Mile Road | Farmington Hills, MI 48334
(248) 553•0300 (V) | (248) 553•3228 (F)