Encyclopedias
Page Contents |
||
Subscription Encyclopedias
Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library and its subscription modem pool, most titles on this list will require your Farmington Community Library Card bar code number and the last 4 digits of your home phone number for access. Titles marked with a Michigan eLibrary Logo (
) are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL), and may require your Michigan Driver's License number to login from outside the Library. Follow the link to the Database page of the MeL, and scroll down to the database you want to use.
A few databases are available only from within the library, and these are marked with a red arrow (
).
Grolier Online Encyclopedias
The main menu at Grolier.com offers direct access to six important online encyclopedic resources:
- America the Beautiful
- Grolier Encyclopedia Americana
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
- Lands & Peoples
- New Book of Knowledge
- New Book of Popular Science
World Book Encyclopedia
Highlights of the World Book Online include:
- Accurate, authoritative, easy to read articles from The World Book Encyclopedia.
- Related articles from major newspapers and magazines.
- Extensive graphic and multimedia enhancements, including photographs, maps, illustrations, tables, animations, and audio/video clips.
- Special Reports that broaden and deepen coverage for selected topics.
- Back in Time, a captivating, you-are-there chronicle of events from the World Book Year Book that begins in 1922 and unfolds in the distinctive voice and perspective of each successive year.
- Links to external Web sites specially selected by World Book editors.
Free Encyclopedias
Wikipedia is a free online encylopedia with user-generated content, containing over 3,000,000 articles. Because it is user-editable, Wikipedia's authoritativeness may vary.
Sixth Edition, 2001
Free Online Encyclopedia from Microsoft®.
A "living digital Encyclopedia".
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian The Smithsonia A to Z!
Answers to frequently asked questions and links to Smithsonian resources.

![]()
|

