Menu 

Databases – Alphabetical

Gale PowerSearch

search all of our Gale Databases at once!


academic_onefile_lg


Academic OneFile

A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects – authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions; updated daily.


alldata


AllData Auto Repair

ONLY AVAILABLE FROM INSIDE THE LIBRARY

The leading provider of electronic diagnostic and repair information and services for the automotive service industry, including Manufacturer TSBs and recalls updated daily, OEM wiring diagrams with connector, ground, power distribution and splice locations, Maintenance tables, and automatic repair information updates . ALLDATA requiresthe Windows XP. Windows Server 2003 Small Business/Standard (32-bit), Windows Vista or Windows 7 operating system on your computer.


ancestry


Ancestry Library Edition

ONLY AVAILABLE FROM INSIDE THE LIBRARY

Offering a new, simplified search screen and contains the following enhancements not previously available in MeL: Passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans; Naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900; Immigration records for more than 100 countries Increase of more than 10 million names; an improved viewer for documents.


biography_gene_master_index_lg


Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Bibliographic citations only.


biography_in_context


Biograpy in Context

 

This resource integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites. Search for people—both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor—based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Or, combine search criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.Navigating the Home Page Searching Topic Pages & Documents Searching Tips


300dpi-books-authors


Books and Authors

offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun!


BusinessInsights_Global_lg


Business Insights Global

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Featuring the content you need to explore a global business landscape:

  • Extensive reference content from Gale’s Core Business Collection
  • Easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports
  • Industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more

chiltonlibrary_lg


Chilton Library

Representing the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.


collegesource


CollegeSource Online

A digital collection of 58,635 digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources. The college catalogs are in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. comprehensive collection of college catalog and course data in existence. With over 42 million course descriptions and more than 58,000 cover-to-cover college catalogs available in PDF format, you can get the information you need in seconds.In addition to catalogs, the profiles for each institution includes maps, web site links, accreditation data, calendar/unit types, transcript keys, and more!


300dpi_computerDatabase


Computer Database

With 3,576,119 articles updated as recently as April 23, 2010. Use this resource to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.


consumer


Consumer Reports Online

the world’s largest independent product testing organization. They provide expert buying advice, recommendations, and ratings on thousands of consumer products each year using their state-of-the-art labs, auto test center, and survey research center.


culturegrams


CultureGrams

This resource provides a profile of the cultures of 200 countries around the world, with in-depth information on 25 categories. The resource also includes StateGrams for all the fifty state, A Provinces Edition covering Canada’s Provinces, and a Kids’ Edition providing a kids’-eye view of 66 countries featuring cultural and geographical information, history, flags, maps and colorful images.


demonow


Demographics Now

Providing Geographic Business Intelligence for:

  • Business & Marketing Plans—fast and easy formatted reports available in seconds!
  • Determining where you should locate your business.
  • Understanding your customers better—How much do they earn? How much do they spend?
  • Analyzing new markets. . . should you expand to other areas?
  • Targeting direct mail and advertising programs—to the customers most likely to buy your product/service.
  • Identifying where your competitors are located.
  • Great for territory sales planning!
  • Lifestyle customer segmentation categorization used by the professionals.

discovering_collection_lg


Discovering Collection

A multimedia reference source with information on six core curriculum areas, specifically: geography & cultures, literature, history, personal biography, science & health, plus an extensive searchable multimedia gallery.


Early world of learning


Early World of Learning

Recommended for: Early elementary. Follow Trek and Taffy the cat around the world learning about colors, numbers and other fun things. Strengthen reading foundations with stories, activities and videos. Explore the Know It encyclopedia designed especially for early readers. Includes materials for educators.


elibrary


eLibrary and eLibrary Elementary

Offering video, audio pictures and maps as well as full-text magazines, books, newspapers, and transcripts of TV and radio shows.


expanded_academic_asap


Expanded Academic ASAP

Offering mostly full text magazine, newspaper and journal articles appropriate to college and university-level research.

Navigation Guide


foundation center


Foundation Directory

ONLY AVAILABLE FROM INSIDE THE LIBRARY

provides the most comprehensive database of over 100,000 grantmakers and over 2.2 million recent grants awarded by the nation’s top funders. Updated Weekly.

More Information


foundation center individuals


Foundation Grants to Individuals

ONLY AVAILABLE FROM INSIDE THE LIBRARY

Provides detailed descriptions of more than 8,300 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers. Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is updated quarterly.


galecourses


Gale Courses

Gale Courses offers Library card-holders (those that live, work, or go to school in Farmington/Farmington Hills) access to hundreds of instructor-led online courses covering everything from health and wellness to creative writing, computer programming, GED test preparation and much more. Courses are developed by expert instructors, many currently employed at universities around the country, with continuous enrollment dates starting every 4 weeks. Sign up for courses today!


GVRL5


Gale PowerSearch


GVRL5


Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a large collection of full-text eBooks from Gale and its publishing partners, offering authoritative references, updated and in electronic format that is available 24/7 from any Internet-connected computer. Among the advantages offered are:


General_Business_File_ASAP


General Business File ASAP

All full text. Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.


300dpi-general-onefile


General OneFile

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.


general_reference_center_gold


General Reference Center Gold

General interest resource that integrates a variety of sources—newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.


grolier


Grolier Online

The main menu at Grolier.com offers direct access to six important online encyclopedic resources:

  • America The Beautiful
  • Encyclopedia Americana
  • Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
  • Lands And Peoples
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • New Book of Popular Science
  • America the Beautiful

grzimeks


Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia

A image-rich, dynamic online resource that creates a true educational experience where a quick trip to find specific information can lead to the desire to explore and learn more. Users will be inspired by:

  • Unequaled coverage—more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more
  • Authoritative, peer-reviewed content—updated regularly by a worldwide network of experts
  • Ancillary topics—such as endangered species, biomes, prehistoric animals and others
  • Ease of use—immersive tools like interactive range maps and an intuitive interface let users discover while also supporting serious academic research
  • Media richness—thousands of photos, maps, videos, audio tracks and more
  • Convenient learning tools—translation into 11 languages; ReadSpeaker text-to-speech translation; ability to download, print, bookmark, and share through popular social networking and other online applications
  • Planned enhancements—curriculum correlations and tools to connect experts, educators and students

300dpi-health-wellness-rc


Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module

Mostly full text. Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., articles from 2,200 general interest publications and links to reputable health Web sites in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles. Includes video.


300dpi-health-rc-acad


Health Reference Center Academic

Multi-source resource providing access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students. The material contained in this resource is intended for informational purposes only.


heritage quest


HeritageQuest Online

Some full text. Includes all of the images and extensive indexing from the 1790–1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.)


informe_lg


Informe!

An electronic Search tool for popular Hispanic magazines—Full Text. Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.


infotrac_junior


InfoTrac Junior Edition

(For Middle and Junior High School. Full text.Over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this resource is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.)


InfoTrac_Newsstand


InfoTrac Newsstand

With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can easily search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, translate articles into 11 different languages, create email alerts, and customize your search options and results format.


infotrac_student_lg


InfoTrac Student Edition

(For High School. Mostly full text.) Over 1,100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this resource gives access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.)


kidsinfobits


Kids InfoBits

(For K-6. All full text. Kids InfoBits is a tool developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This resource covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.)


learningexpress


Learning Express Library

An online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, and elementary level testing for math and reading. A free user account to login to the Learning centers must be created. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. Learning Centers offer the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You’ll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that’s right for you, including a Job & Career Accelerator. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results.


300dpi-legalforms


Legal Forms

Michigan Gale welcomes you to the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily.

Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters.


legaltrac_lg


LegalTrac

Some full text. Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® Search (in the drop-down menu) rather than the default full-text search.


litcritonl_lg


Literature Criticism Online

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis – the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals – delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It’s all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today’s researchers demand.


literature_resource_center


Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is your most current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.


litfinder


Litfinder

Lit Finder is a unique collection of full-text poems, stories, essays, speeches, and plays focusing on the humanities and social sciences, and includes biographies and literary criticism. You can search by title or author, or use the subject navigator organized into a hierarchy of groupings, leading from the most general to the most specific.


mango


Mango Language Learning

An online language learning resource with more than 50 languages for English speakers and 17 English as a Second Language (ESL) courses. This computer based program also has a mobile app for learners on the go!


medline plus


Medline Plus

Recommended for: Patients and health professionals. Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.



Michigan Authors & Illustrators

A searchable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information. Indicates whether person will do library presentations. No log-in required.


michigania


Michigana

Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online provides access to primary source documents in an online system that is easily accessible by students and researchers of all levels. For example, a user may enter a search term such as Fort Mackinac to find all references to that word or phrase found on any page within the database. Or a student may choose a subject term from the listing of top subjects that are listed on the home page to quickly find all works that are closely related to that person, place or event–for example, William Hull or railroads.

Another way to access the content is through contextual essays that have been written by Michigan historians specifically for the database. These are accessed through the images at the bottom of the home page which take a user to a list of related essays, all of which include a bibliography of related documents from within the database.


michigania


Michigana: (Sabin Collection): Sources in U.S. History Online (Gale Cengage Leaning)

This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children’s books.


michigania


Morningstar Investment Research Center

3 Simultaneous User Limit

Morningstar Investment Research Center combines in one convenient resource all the stock, fund, industry and ETF information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction. It is a one-stop-shop for screening and report building tools including extensive help and education materials. Allows searching by name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s), philanthropic activities, etc.


National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations


National Directory of Non-Profit Organizations

Designed specifically for marketers, sales staff and nonprofit professionals, National Directory of Non-Profit Organizations provides contact and descriptive factual information on the largest nonprofit organizations in the United States. Based on data from the Internal Revenue Service, each annual edition of this venerable resource includes entries on more than 260,000 organizations, more than 180,000 of which have incomes greater than $100,000


michigania


New York Times (Searchable Full text 1980– )

Full text. The daily newspaper New York Times 1985-present.


NoveList


NoveList

NoveList helps to find the next best fiction book to read. Search by author, title, series, plots, or even books like the one you just finished. Browse lists of award winners, lists of genres, and lists based on age. Create and save lists of your own favorites. Find book discussion guides and more. This has something for children, young adults, and adults, plus specific information for teachers, and librarians


nrc_lg


Nursing Resource Center

Mostly Full-text. Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals.


opposingViewpoints_in_context


Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Designed to aid students in researching both sides of a social issue, while making it simple, fast and rewarding, the Center includes over 60 topics from key reference sources, including full-text articles from over 30 major newspapers and newsmagazines, making researching both sides of an issue simple, fast and rewarding.


opposingViewpoints_in_context


PebbleGo

PebbleGo is an award-winning pre-K to grade 3 resource for reading and research. PebbleGo includes built-in reading and research tools for emerging readers. Leveled text, educational games, and multimedia help teach concepts to your youngest researchers. The PebbleGo collections make learning and improving reading and research skills fun, building on children’s interest. PebbleGo offers two separate resources or collections: PebbleGo Animals and PebbleGo Earth & Space. Both are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports of read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting.


proquestnews


Proquest Newspapers: Detroit Free Press

This database covers the daily newspaper from Detroit, Michigan. Full-text coverage from 1999-present (with limited full-text coverage from 1994).


proquestnews


Proquest Newspapers: Lansing State Journal

This database covers the daily newspaper from Detroit, Michigan. Full-text coverage from 1999-present (with limited full-text coverage from 1994).


proquestnews


ReferenceUSA

consists of two databases: a business database and a residential database. The business database provides contact information, contact names, estimated sales, number of employees, SIC and line of business for 12 million U.S. businesses. This is an excellent source for creating custom marketing lists. The residential database contains data on 120 million households. This is an excellent source for creating custom marketing lists. The residential database contains data on over 200 million households.


science_in_context


Science in Context

Supporting high school curricula and university course work, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.


science_in_context


SIRS Discoverer Deluxe

(Recommended for K=9)

SIRS Renaissance Deluxe

(For High school, College and University.)


SmallBusinessResourceCenter


Small Business Resource Center

Small Business Resource Center offers users complete small business management resources via a combination of unparalleled periodicals and reference content. From conducting industry research to financial planning, to marketing a product and franchising a business, the Small Business Resource Center provides users with all the information they need to succeed.


SmallBusinessResourceCenter


TumbleBooks Library

The TumbleBook Library is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) and TumblePuzzles. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from children’s book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook


history_us_in_context (1)


U. S. History in Context

U. S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


valueline


ValueLine Investment Survey

ONLY AVAILABLE FROM INSIDE THE LIBRARY

The Value Line Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.


Worldbook Kids


World Book Kids

Recommended for: Young learners. Contains eight major subject categories: Arts, History and Government, People, Places, Plants and Animals, Science and Mathematics, Sports and Hobbies, World Religions. Has three sets of activities divided into: Make It! Think It! and Be It! Has full-featured pictures, sounds and videos. Also includes a section for teachers.


history_world_in_context (1)


WorldCAT

Search the world’s largest online catalog of books and magazines. Includes a description of the item and which libraries own the item.


history_world_in_context (1)


World History in Context

World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

 

 

 

FCLLogo

Both Branches of the Farmington Community Library will be closed on Wednesday, Dec. 24
and Thursday, Dec. 25 for the Christmas Holiday.